top of page

Present Perfect (2) (I have done)


A

Hong : Have you traveled a lot, Kim?

Kim : Yes, I have been to lots of places.

Hong : Really? Have you ever been to China?

Kim : Yes, I have been to China twice.

Hong : What about USA?

Kim : No, I haven’t been to USA yet.

When you talk about a period of time that continues from the past until now, we use the present perfect (have been / have traveled, etc). Here, Hong and Kim are talking about the places Kim has visited in her life (which is a period that continues until now).

Such as :

  • Have you ever eaten dog soup? (in your life)

  • We have never had a car.

  • “Have you read Hamlet?” “No, I haven’t read any of Shakespeare’plays.”

  • Susa really loves that movie. She has seen it eight times!

  • What a boring movie! It’s the most boring movie I have ever seen.

Been(to) visited :

I have never been to London. Have you been there?

Here are more examples of speakers talking about a period that continues until now (recently/ in the last few days / so far / since breakfast, etc) :

  • Have you heard from Braina recently?

  • I have met a lot of people in the last few days.

  • Everything is going well. We haven’t had any problems so far.

  • I’m hungry. I haven’t eaten anything since. Breakfast. (from breakfast until now)

  • It’s nice to see you again. We haven’t seen each other for a long time.

PAST

RECENTLY

NOW

IN THE LAST FEW DAYS

SINCE BREAKFAST

B

We use the present perfect with today/ this morning / this evening, etc., when these periods are not finished at the time of speaking :

  • I have drunk four cups of coffee today.

  • Have you had a vacation this year?

  • I haven’t seen Tom this morning. Have you?

C

We say, “It is the first time something has happened” (present perfect)

Such as :

  • Kim is taking a driving lesson. It’s her first time one. It is the first time she has driven a car.

  • She has never driven a car before.

  • Sarah has lost her passport again. It’s the second time this has happened.

  • Eric is calling his girlfriend again. This is the third time he has called her tonight.


추천 게시물
최근 게시물
태그 찾기
아직 태그가 없습니다.
공식 SNS 페이지
  • Google Classic
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page