top of page

Present Perfect (1) I have done


A

Joe is looking for his key. He can’t find it.

He has lost his key. (= He lost it and he still doesn’t have it.)

Have/has lost is the present perfect (simple) :

The present perfect is have/has + past participle. The past participle often ends in –ed (finished/decided, etc), but many important verbs are irregular (lost/done/been/written, etc)

B

When we use the present perfect, there is a connection with now. The action in the past has a result now ;

  • He told me his name, but I’ve forgotten it. (I can’t remember it now)

  • “Is Kim here?” “No, she has gone out” (She is out now.)

  • I can’t find my money. Have you seen it? (Do you know where it is now?)

We often use the present perfect to give new information or to announce a recent happening:

  • The road is closed. There’s been an accident.

  • (from the news) the police have arrested two men in connection with the robbery.

We also use the simple past (I played, I did, etc) in these situations. So you can say:

  • He told me his name, but I’ve forgotten it. Or but I forgot it.

  • Kim isn’t here. She’s gone out. Or she went out.

C

We often use the present perfect with just, already, and yet. You can also use the simple past :

Just = a short time ago :

  • Are you hungry? No, I have just had lunch. (Or I just had lunch.)

We use already to say that something happened sooner than expected.

  • Don’t forget to mail the letter. I have already mailed it. (Or I already mailed it.)

Yet = until now. It shows that the speaker is expecting something to happen.

  • Has it stopped raining yet?

  • I wrote the letter, but I havent’ mailed it yet.

D

Do not use the present perfect when you talk about a finished time (for example, last night, two years ago / yesterday, etc) Use the simple past.

  • It snowed last night. (not has snowed)

  • Where were you at 3:00? (not Where have you been?)

  • I started my new job two weeks ago. (not have started)

  • Nick didn’t go out yesterday. (not hasn’t gone)

추천 게시물
최근 게시물
태그 찾기
아직 태그가 없습니다.
공식 SNS 페이지
  • Google Classic
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page