top of page

Present Continuous and Simple Present


Present Continuous and Simple Present (2)

(I’m doing and I do)

A

We can use continuous tenses only for actions and happenings (they are eating / it is reaining, etc.)

Some verbs (such as, know and like) are not action verbs. You can’t say “I am doing knowing” or “They are liking”; you can only say I know, they like.

Those verbs are not normally used in continuous tenses :

머리속 / 가슴속 말 / ~ 달려있다 / 믿습니다 = 시각적으로 구별할 수 없는 것!

감각들도 진행형이 보통 쓰이지 않는다.

It tastes an apple. (지금 현재 맛이 있을 수 있고, 보편적으로 맛이 좋을 수 있기 때문에 –ing form 을 사용하지 않는다.)

Like, love, hate, want need, prefer

Know, realize, suppose mean, understand, believe, remember

Belong, contain consist, depend, seem

  • I’m hungry. I want to something to eat. (not I’m wanting)

  • Do you understand what I mean?

  • Kim doesn’t seem very happy right now.

** look / feel** 시각적으로 표현할 수 있기 때문에 simple / -ing form은 허용된다.

When think means “believe,” do not use the continuous:

  • What do you think (=believe) will happen?

  • You look serious. What are you thinking about? (=what is going on in you mind?)

  • I am thinking of quitting my job. (=I am considering)

When have means “possess” etc. do not use the continuous,.

  • We are enjoying our trip. We have a nice room in the hotel. (not We’re having)

  • We are enjoying our tip. We are having a great time.

B

See, hear, smell, taste

We normally use the simple present (not continuous) with these verbs :

  • Do you see that man over there? (not Are you seeing)

  • This room smells. Let’s open a window.

We often use CAN + SEE / HEAR / SMELL / TASTE :

  • Can you hear something?

Note that you can say I’m seeing when the meaning is “having a meeting with” (especially in the future)

  • I’m seeing the manager tomorrow morning.

C

He is selfish and He is being selfish

He is being = He is behaving / he is acting. (오늘 따라~)

  • I can’t understand why he is being so selfish. He isn’t usually like that. (being selfish = behaving selfishly at the moment)

  • But

  • He never thinks about other people. He is very selfish. (not He is being) (=he is selfish generally, not only at the moment)

We use am/is/are being to say how somebody is behaving. It is not usually possible in other sentences.

  • It is hot today. (not It is being hot)

Sam is very tired. (not is being tired)


추천 게시물
최근 게시물
태그 찾기
아직 태그가 없습니다.
공식 SNS 페이지
  • Google Classic
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page