top of page

simple past (I did)


A

Wolfang Mozart was an Austrian musician and composer. He lived from 1756 to 1791. He started composing at the age of five and wrote more than 600 pieces of music. He was only 35 years old when he died.

Where are simple past verbs?

B

Very often the simple past ends in –ed (regular verbs) :

  • I work in a travel angency now. Before that I worked in a department store.

  • The police stopped me for speeding

  • She passed her exam because the studied very hard

But many verbs are irregular. This means that the simple past doe not end in –ed

Write > wrote : He wrote moret than 600 novels.

See > saw : We saw Rosa in town a few days ago.

Go > went : I went to the movies three times last week.

Cost > cost : this house coast $90,000 in 1996.

C

In questions and negatives we use did/didn’t + bast form (enjoy/see/go etc)

A : Did you go out last night?

B : Yes, I went to the movies, but I didn’t enjoy the film much.

  • When did Mr. Thomas die? / About ten years ago.

  • They didn’t invite her to the party, so she didn’t go.

  • Did you have time to write the letter? / No, I didn’t.

Be careful when do is the main verb in the sentence.

  • I didn’t do anything. (not I didn’t anything)

D

The past of be(am/is/are) is was/were :

  • I was antry because they were late.

  • Was the weather good when you were on vacation?

  • They weren’t able to come because they were so busy.

  • Did you go out last night, or were you too tired?


추천 게시물
최근 게시물
태그 찾기
아직 태그가 없습니다.
공식 SNS 페이지
  • Google Classic
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
bottom of page